Thoughts on Thursday: Fam{ily} Traditions

Growing up, we never really had any traditions that we would do every year. I mean, sure, we ate with family on Thanksgiving and sat together on the 4th and 24th of July, but that’s about the extent of it. Sad, huh?

Now that I have my own family, I am trying really hard to set up some family traditions. Things that my kids will look forward to and remember when they are older and have kids of their own.. Maybe even do the same with them.

Some traditions that I tried to start this past year are going to look at all of the Christmas lights on Christmas Eve. Another would also be the Christmas Eve box. I want to take a vacation or two each year to a different place. I want to celebrate each and every holiday and go ALL OUT for them! Yep, I want to be THAT mom! Thank goodness for Pinterest!!

Other than that, I’ve got nothin’! How sad!

_________________________________________________________

If you are going to link up, I would LOVE it if you displayed my button somewhere on your page or included it or a link back to my blog in your post.
{And I am still needing help with how to create a box, instead of just having the code out there like it is. So if you can help me, I would appreciate it greatly!}

Two Million Miles

Here is the agenda for February:
2/28 – Favorite Season
If you have a good topic, please let me know!
{To link up, please leave your URL in the comments!}
I am really looking forward to hearing YOUR family traditions. I need some new ideas! Please let me know what yours are!
signature
Subscribe
4 thoughts on “Thoughts on Thursday: Fam{ily} Traditions

  1. One thing we did every year our kids were growing up is buy them a Hallmark ornament for Christmas. Always tried to match it to an interest or something kinda quirky about them that only family would know. They are grown now and I have tried to send those ornaments on to them and they still say that they need to come home and put them up on our tree because to them that is where they belong. Maybe when they have kids of their own they will be ready to take them.

  2. One thing we do each year is we buy everyone a new pair of pajamas. We all open them on Christmas Eve and wear them when we open presents the next morning. The kids really enjoy seeing what they are going to get. I am going to try this year to make them for everyone… I am not sure how that will go but we will see 🙂 I will be checking back to see what everyone else says! Another thing we do is our whole family gets together on Christmas Eve and we have a family game night. Everyone plays and we bring snack stuff. We sometimes, if we have time, bake cookies and bring them to our local fire station and the kids love that too! All the kids spend the night at one place and we all open our gifts together also!! It is a blast!!

So, what do ya think?

