Karsyn’s got a Gun

Every Sunday my little brothers and sister come over to my house to hang out.

Two of my brothers are 9, but not twins! {Can you figure that one out?!} And my sister is almost 8.

My one brother is obsessed with guns and murderous video/computer games. While I don’t think it’s good for him to sit there and watch/play those kind of games, he is not my child, so there’s not much I can do about it. Anyway, that’s all beside the point! He brought over a toy shot gun last week and Karsyn was in love with it! He wouldn’t put it down. I knew right then that I needed to get him a gun.

I come from a small town in Utah, and if you know anything about Utah at all, it’s that we love our guns and the president will NOT take them from us. Even our police have said they will not enforce it. I’m getting off track again.. Back to my story! I don’t mind if my one-year-old has a toy gun to shoot at little targets and stuff. That doesn’t bother me at all.

So I went to Wal-Mart the other day and they had NO more of those shot guns left. I searched high and low. I’m guessing they got rid of them because of all the cruelty in this world lately, which is fine. I understand. I did find a double pack of Nerf guns that was only $5, so I decided to go with that. I figured it was my best {and cheapest} option for him.

12943166He freakin’ loves them! He hasn’t put them down since I bought them. He even slept with it the other night. Funny kid.

Anyway, Kade was playing with one gun and Karsyn had the other. I looked over and Kade was pointing the gun and shooting the stupid little foam bullets at Karsyn. I lost it right then and there!

I don’t care if my kid plays with his toy guns and shoots at the door or his targets, but he will NOT point guns OF ANY KIND at people! Kade got an ear full from me!! He understood and said he was just playing and that he didn’t even think about it, which I believe and understand, but never ever has it been okay with me to point even a toy gun at someone! I’ve been trying really hard to teach Karsyn that in the few short days that we’ve had these toys.

Now my ramble is over and Kade has learned his lesson. (:

What do you think about kids and toy guns?

signature

Subscribe

So, what do ya think?

