15+ Things I would NEVER Buy at the Dollar Store

15+ things I would never buy at the dollar store

This is in addition to my post “20+ Things You Should Buy at the Dollar Store

I am not trying to bash on anything or anyone.

I am just stating my opinion and why. I have nothing against anyone who may happen to buy these things there.

I have also asked my readers on Facebook {Jourdan’s Jewels, Jourdan’s {Handmade} Jewels, and Perfectly Posh with Jourdan} for their input, as well.

Here’s my list:

{These answers have not been edited at all. Just copied and pasted. My opinions are in italics.}

1 – make up! Some of their make-up is okay, and you can’t go wrong with $1 chapsticks!

2 – perishables – I’m with you on that one! I don’t think I would buy a whole lot of food from there. Maybe name brand stuff, but that’s about it.

3 – medicine – I don’t think I would ever really trust $1 medicine either!

4 – Shampoo or Conditioner! – The baby kind wouldn’t be too bad for $1, but not stuff for my own hair.

5 – toilet paper – TP is TP! You can get shitty {no pun intended} TP at Wal-Mart.

6 – Bras and panties – Um, yeah. It’d probably be paper thin!

7 – Condoms!!! hahaha ;D – Haha! Me either!

8 – Canned meat! – I wouldn’t buy canned meat ANYWHERE!

9 – sushi – I didn’t even know they had sushi at the Dollar Store!

10 – Fruits and veggies … umm no thanks – I’ve never seen either of those at our Dollar Store.

11 – boxed foods or electrical cords! – I haven’t ever bought either of those there, but I know for sure that I wouldn’t buy the cords there!

12 – Toys they are made from another country and can have lead in them.. not safe for my kids! – I didn’t even realize that! I try not to buy too many toys there anyway, because most of them break about 5 minutes after we get home.

13 – clothes – I’ve only seen a handful of clothes at our DS and they were very plain and THIN!

14 – Jars of any good (pickles, relish, peppers) the say distributed from Wisconsin or something but it’s a product from India. Also toothpaste, the colgate that says made in Madagascar? – Right. I’m all about buying USA made stuff!

15 – Anything in the refrigerated section. – Our DS doesn’t even have a refrigerated section!

16 – Diapers, they are so much more expensive – Wouldn’t they be just a $1? Ha. I would never trust the Dollar Stores diapers.

17 – Food. – Not all of it is bad.

18 – birth control – Another one of those “I’ve never even seen that there!” I thought BC had to be OTC?!

The most common answer was: a pregnancy test. But let me just tell you this! When I was pregnant, I was at the doctor office and we were talking about pregnancy tests. She told me that the ones at the Dollar Store are just as effective as the ones she had! One of the nurses that works at my doctors office even confirmed this on my status. This is what she said, “Jourdan, the pregnancy tests at her office are almost identical to the dollar store ones haha! I buy everything at the dollar store.”

Other commenters said this about pregnancy tests:

* they have to be fda approved so why spend $10 when you can just spend $1?
*Bought both my pregnancy tests at the dollar store. They worked fine! Got two boys to prove it!
*Bought both of my pregnancy tests at the dollar store, and both said I was pregnant when the really expensive early predictor ones said I wasn’t… BOTH TIMES! And I now have two beautiful little girls…
*I’ve bought 2 pregnancy tests for the dollar store and they were right both times
*I didn’t believe it either….I went and bought the $10 one and it was the same result

I had a couple people that work at Dollar Stores comment on my statuses and this is what they had to say:

*I work at dollar general. Are products are just as good as walmarts.
*I work at dollar general too and do most my shopping here. It’s as good as anywhere else.

*Disclosure: I was not contacted by any of the stores mentioned to write this post. I did not receive any compensation at all. This was written by me with the opinions of others from my Facebook pages.

What would you NEVER buy at the Dollar Store?

signature

11 thoughts on “15+ Things I would NEVER Buy at the Dollar Store

  1. I think they are a great place to buy party goods like paper plates and party favors, but that’s about it. With coupons and sales, you can buy name brand stuff cheaper. That pregnancy test info was news to me. I would have never thought of that, but with four kids already, I’m hoping to not need one of those again. 🙂

    • For some people it works! (: I hate finding coupons, etc. – mostly because I am not good at it. I would love to learn! But yes, I can see how name brand stuff would be more worth it {even if you do have to pay a little more}. I think the pregnancy test was a big shocker to a lot of people!

  2. this is just too funny. I think we have bought the power strip cords at the DS… and as for jarred foods- I think I’d only buy them if I wanted the JAR for something (haha) stopping in from cox corner!

  3. When I was in h/s I worked at a home furnishings factory making those really expensive cellular pleated mini blinds. I gotta tell ya – I would whip out hundreds of these things and the exact same item would go into a JCPenney box with a retail price of $99 as would go into a dollar store (any variation of them) box for a fraction of the cost. Most items are sold ‘private label’ to big box & retail stores but are not modified in the least when packaged and sold to discount outlets like dollar stores & Big Lots for pennies.

  4. Pingback: January Recap | Two Million Miles

So, what do ya think?

