Spray Painted Picture Frame

The last gift I made for their wedding present was the picture frame. You’re probably thinking.. “Why in the heck did you do it red, black, and white instead of white, black, and green?” I did it because their room is in thodr colors and I knew they could use something cute in there.

I bought the frame at Walmart for $2.97. It has a stand in the back, so it can be hung or just sat on a dresser or table or something. And I forgot to take a picture BEFORE I started painting it, so forgive me. But you get the idea of what it looked like. Just plain wood. I wanted to spray it white first because I knew the red would show up on it better than white showing on red, if you get what I mean.  I sprayed it all white and then left it dry for a little while.

I didn’t take very many pictures because I kept forgetting, but what I did after I sprayed it white and let it dry was measure how big I wanted my stripes, then I put a piece of tape over the place where I wanted a white stripe. In my case, I just did the stripes as big as the tape, so I placed two pieces of tape all the way around the frame. Then I sprayed it red. I made sure to spray the sides as well so the stripes would carry over. I would recommend using painters tape, rather than just packing tape.. haha. Mine did bleed a little, which sucked, but whatever. “It gives it character,” as Kade would say.

I let the red paint dry before I peeled the tape off and once I pulled the tape off, this is what it looked like. You can see the little places where the paint bled, dang it! I probably should have sprayed it a little more, too, to make sure that it was all even, but I was in a hurry, so this is not the best. Sorry. Forgive me?

Then I took it in the house and added some glitter letters to spell their last name. I got the letters in the scrapbook section at Walmart for .97 for a bag of 50 or so letters. They also have them in white, but I thought black would look fab.

The glue hadn’t completely dried yet on the N, so nevermind that.

What do you think??

{If you missed how I made any of the other gifts, you can check them out here: cups, plate, and jar of dates.

 

2 thoughts on “Spray Painted Picture Frame

So, what do ya think?

