Cafe Rio Sweet Pork

One recipe that I love to make, is Cafe Rio Sweet Pork.

I make it because it doesn’t require a ton of effort from me and it’s DELICIOUS!!

Here is what you’ll need:

cafe rio sweet pork*Cheese
*Uncooked tortillas {My FAVORITE is Tortilla Land}
*Dr. Pepper
*Brown Sugar
*Salsa {I LOVE Wild Coyote}
*Pork loin
*Croc Pot

1 – Put your Pork Loin in the Croc Pot and let it stay in there for 3-4 hours if you need it quick {aka just thought about what you were going to make at 1 or 2 in the afternoon} or 6-7 hours if you start it in the morning.

2 – Check it every hour or so.. I usually flop mine on to the other side and start to cut it up, as I can. {If you put this in – in the morning and then go to work, it will be fine! Don’t worry about checking it hourly. I just do it so that I don’t have as much to cut up when it’s done.}

3 – About an hour before you are ready to eat it, shred it. I usually can just pull it apart with two forks without even having to remove it from the Croc Pot. {Make sure it’s cut up in order to do this}

4 – Add a can or cup {depending on how big your love for DP is!!!}, as well as a cup of Brown Sugar and a cup of salsa. You can also add black beans.

5 – Let sit for one more hour.

6 – When you are ready to eat, cook your tortillas according to the directions on the package.

7 – Add some cheese to the tortilla {I usually will cook one side, flip it over, then shred cheese on it while it’s still cooking in the pan so the cheesy is nice and melted.}

8 – Add some pork to the tortilla, along with whatever else your pretty little heart desires {lettuce, sour cream, rice, etc}, roll it up, and EAT!!

I’m tellin’ ya.. This stuff is GOOOOD!

My mom tells me I make it too much, but what does she know?

What do you like to add to your burritos?

signature

28 thoughts on “Cafe Rio Sweet Pork

  1. Oh, I’m so glad you posted this! I just went to Cafe Rio this fall while I was visiting home and then came back to West Virginia…no Cafe Rio here. I’ve been craving it! I’m pinning this and adding it to my “Make Immediately” file. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Artsy Corner Party #17 and A GIVEAWAY! |

  3. Pingback: Features from Make-It Party - Design, Dining + Diapers

  4. Pingback: January Recap | Two Million Miles

  5. just went to cafe rio in ut for the first time last week and fell IN LOVE with the sweet pork. but my husband is not a huge fan of pork. i was wondering how do you think this would be with shredded chicken (chicken breast) instead? thanks in advance!!

    • Oooh, that sounds almost as good! I don’t think it would hurt to try. Anything with chicken is good. I don’t think you can go wrong. If you do happen to try it with chicken, please let me know how it turns out!

  6. How many pounds of pork loin do you use? Also, you don’t state if you put any liquid in with the pork loin while it cooks alone for the first few hours.

So, what do ya think?

