5 Blogging Tips {Part 1}

First off, let me say that I am NO expert, by any means at all!

I am just going to share what I have learned in the short 5 months that I have been blogging.

And my blog still needs a lot of improvement, but here is what I have learned so far..

1 – TURN OFF THE DANG MUSIC/VIDEOS! I absolutely HATE when I go to someone’s blog and their music or ad video starts blaring through my speakers. More often than not, I am listening to my own music while I’m on the computer and I hate it when someone else’s mixes in with mine!

2 – ALWAYS have a “Pin It” button in EACH post! With Pinterest growing more and more each day, it’s a great way to get your creations, products, posts, etc. out there for all the world to see! I follow a lot of blogs and I LOVE to pin their creations, but it’s such a pain in the butt to have to copy the URL, then open Pinterest, then click “Add Pin” then paste the URL, then type in a description, THEN pin. It’s so much easier to just click “Pin It” and the little window pops up, then you click Pin and wa-la! You’re done!
{P.S. My “Pin It” button is at the bottom of the post where it says “You know you wanna share”}

3 – Write in your own voice. Write as if you are talking to a friend or family member. Your own voice is something that makes you, YOU! Your voice makes you unique. Embrace it!

4 – Use correct grammar! There is nothing more annoying {and totally unprofessional} than having to read through all this slang language {i.e. dis, dat, u, ur, y, idk}. LOL is about the only one that I can stand. And honestly, if you talk like that, I’m probably not going to follow your blog anymore. Just sayin’…

5 – Engage your readers. {This is something that I need to improve on.} Ask questions at the end of each post. Something more than a yes or no question.

There are my 5 {newbie} blogging tips!

To be continued.. Notice the {Part 1}!

What do you think? Anything else I could add? What’s your best tip?

17 thoughts on “5 Blogging Tips {Part 1}

  1. Oh yes, the videos drive me insane. I would add turn off Captcha as well. Most of the time when I am trying to comment on the site that has it, I end it getting it wrong over and over and then just give up and don’t comment. Visiting from Sugar Bee crafts.

    • Captcha’s ARE annoying! I am definitely adding that to my Part 3 list! I’ve already got the Part 2 done and scheduled! (: I have the same problem with them. Thanks for visiting, Vicky!! (:

So, what do ya think?

